Wolfe with TVThe Episodes—2001-2002



  • Original Air Dates
  • Synopses
  • DVD Disc Set Contents, etc.

  • Click an episode name to view the slide show of terrific still shots/screen captures from it.
  • Episode title abbreviation used throughout this section are indicated in parenthesis after the episodes title
The Golden Spiders (TGS)
DVD: Season 2, Vol. 5
Air Date: March 5, 2000
Synopsis: Wolfe and Archie take on a case for the smallest retainer in their history -- $4.30. The trail begins with a mysterious woman wearing golden spider earrings, and ends in blackmail and murder.

The Doorbell Rang (TDR)
DVD: Vol. 1
Air Date: April 22, 2001
Synopsis: An eccentric millionaire hands Wolfe a disturbing story of FBI harassment and an extraordinarily fat check.

Champagne for One
DVD: Vol. 1
Air Date: April 29 + May 6, 2001
Synopsis: Archie sits in for a friend at a dinner party for unwed mothers, and one of the guests drops dead on the dance floor.

Prisoner's Base (PB) 
DVD: Vol. 2
Air Date: May 13 + 20, 2001
Synopsis: Archie investigates the death of a young woman Wolfe turned away from the brownstone.

Eeny, Meeny, Murder, Mo (EEMM)
DVD: Vol. 2
Air Date: June 3, 2001
Synopsis: While Archie is in the plant rooms badgering Wolfe to meet with a prospective client, someone in the office makes sure she won't ever tell him her story.

Disguise for Murder (DFM)
DVD: Vol. 2
Air Date: June 17, 2001
Synopsis: The Manhattan Flower Club's visit to the brownstone proves fatal for one of Wolfe's guests.

Door to Death (DTD)
DVD: Vol. 3
Air Date: June 24, 2001
Synopsis: Desperate for a new gardener, Wolfe leaves the brownstone to find an orchid man in the raging wilds of Westchester.

Christmas Party (CP)
DVD: Vol. 3
Air Date: July 1, 2001
Synopsis: Archie attends a holiday soiree where one person doesn't make it alive to Christmas morning.

Over My Dead Body (MDB)
Vol. 3
Air Date: July 8 + 15, 2001
Synopsis: When a Montenegrin female arrives at the brownstone, Wolfe's jealously guarded past comes to light.

The Second Season (all screen captures are at this link)

Death of a Doxy (DoaD)
DVD: Vol. 1
Air Date: April 14, 2002
Synopsis: Archie finds a dead woman's body while doing a favor for a friend.

The Next Witness (TNW)
DVD: Vol. 1
Air Date: April 21, 2002
Synopsis: Wolfe bolts from court when he believes his testimony will convict an innocent man.

Die Like a Dog (DLaD)
DVD: Vol. 1
Air Date: April 28, 2002
Synopsis: While fetching his raincoat, Archie stumbles onto a murder scene.

Murder Is Corny (MIC)
DVD: Vol. 2
Air Date: May 5, 2002
Synopsis: A delivery boy is murdered and Archie is the prime suspect.

The Mother Hunt (MH)
DVD: Vol. 2
Air Date: May 12 + 19, 2002
Synopsis: Wolfe and Archie hunt for the mother of an abandoned baby.

Poison a la Carte (PalC)
DVD: Vol. 2
Air Date: May 26, 2002
Synopsis: A lecherous producer is poisoned during a banquet prepared by Fritz.

Too Many Clients (TMC)<
DVD: Vol. 3
Air Date: June 2 + 9, 2002
Synopsis: A client who thinks he's being followed is found dead.

Before I Die (BID)
DVD: Vol. 3
Air Date: June 16, 2002
Synopsis: A gangster hires Wolfe and Archie to protect him from blackmail.

Help Wanted, Male (HWM)
DVD: Vol. 3
Air Date: June 23, 2002
Synopsis: Wolfe refuses to help a man who receives an anonymous death threat -- and later turns up dead.

The Silent Speaker (TSS)
DVD: Vol. 4 (wide screen)
DVD: Vol. 5 (letterbox)
Air Date: July 14 + 21, 2002
Synopsis: A nearly bankrupt Wolfe reluctantly investigates the death of a bureaucrat.

Cop Killer (CK)
DVD: Vol. 4
Air Date: August 11, 2002
Synopsis: Two illegal aliens become suspects in the killing of a policeman.

Immune to Murder (ITM)
DVD: Vol. 4
Air Date: August 18, 2002
Synopsis: The Assistant Secretary of State is found floating in a trout stream.

The Golden Spiders (Pilot) (TGS)
DVD: Vol. 5

PROMO: ”The Making of Nero Wolfe”
DVD: Vol. 5